## Timeline of U.S. Constitution

1774: First meeting of the Continental Congress: delegates of the 13 colonies

1776: Revolution begins; Declaration of Independence in July

1776: Articles of Confederation adopted by Continental Congress; sent to 13 states for ratification

1781: ratified by 13 states, but followed by Continental Congress before that

1783: Treaty of Paris; peace treaty and independence from Britain

1783–1787: so-called Critical Period

1786–1787: Shays' Rebellion in Massachusetts

May 1787: delegates of states meet in Philadelphia to draft new Constitution

Sept 1788: U.S. Constitution ratified by 9 states; rest follow later

March 1789: new government begins; meeting of the First Congress; George Washington as president

1789: First Congress adopts Bill of Rights (amendments 1 to 10 of Constitution)

Dec. 1791: Amendments ratified by states; become part of the US Constitution